american dream

I wrote this song last summer on my $37 thrift store guitar.  I’m not an average guitar player in any way, shape, or form, but I get the ins of me, out.  I was reading a post by a recent follower of my blog, talking about the American Dream.  If you want to read his post, its called, Hollywood Bullsh-t.  And its really worth your time…

The serendipitous part is that I had been contemplating whether to post my lyrics or not.  Now after reading his post, I kind of feel like I have to as an encore to his words.

American Dream

This kiss was meant for love
Commodity is what they thought of
A strangulation of life
Into prostitution and strife
You held on to me and the American Dream

But there’s no place for fantasies
Among the greedy corporate fiends
There really is no American Dream
All the lies aren’t what they seem

But it must’ve seemed a fair price for souls
We sold out to a sucking black hole

Why can’t you see, this country
Was made by you and me?
Why can’t you see, this country
Was made by complacency?

This kiss was meant for love
But commodity is all we thought of
There really is no American Dream
Cos we all sit by in complacency.

Copyright © 2012 Soul Our Power

Leave a Reply

